Advertisement

More Than I Can Chew?

Started by July 06, 2002 10:35 PM
18 comments, last by T R i K s A N D 22 years, 2 months ago
Hey, I have been studying C/C++ for about 3 months and have completely read through SAMS C++ In 21 Days. I recently took a 2 week workshop at DigiPen and have successfully created my first game, so originally entitled Pong v1.0. If you need an idea of how much I know then heres a link to my game Pong. As you can see I know how to load bitmaps, do scoring, basic collision detection, control methods, blah blah blah. My question is, would it be to presumptuous of me to start on a new project from scratch that would be pretty much exactly like teenage mutant ninja turtles 3 except with my own original plot, artwork, etc.? If you've read this far I thank you, so what do you think, am I biting off more than I can chew? And if you think I am, than what should my next project be? [edited by - T R i K s A N D on July 6, 2002 11:37:17 PM]
Peace,Luc BooneTrans9 Studios
Yes. Try something like Arkanoid or Space Invaders first. Then maybe Tetris. Maybe then you''ll be ready for a side-scroller, but I can almost guarantee you''d abandon it if you started it now.

Peace,
ZE.

//email me.//zealouselixir software.//msdn.//n00biez.//
miscellaneous links

[twitter]warrenm[/twitter]

Advertisement
Also, some hints for the future:
*End users don''t need your BSC files.
*Learn about framerate dependent motion, please.

Later,
ZE.

Thanks for your quick response(s). I know about what end users want I just didn''t bother in this case. And I will try to figure out how to do framerate dependent motion. Thanks for your advice ZE.
"Biting of more than you can chew" is kind of relative. I''m not too familiar with TMNT 3 but wasn''t it a 2 side-scroller? If so then from what you''ve said you should be able to handle it.