Advertisement

Hi I'm new and I have no idea about anything :)

Started by July 11, 2002 04:51 PM
12 comments, last by FlashKid 22 years, 2 months ago
Maybe not everything because I do know how to use flash and I am crafty with HTML but other then that I''m a total newbie. I would really like to make those text based online RPG games but dont know were to start. I learn fast and by my self (I thought my self Flash and HTML) so a good web site with instruction will do just fine if nothing else. If you could help me out in any way it would be appreciated.
someone will give you this link, so why not me..

Look at the top of this page, see a link..

For Beginners ? http://www.gamedev.net/reference/start_here/

Go there..

[edited by - hammerstein_02 on July 11, 2002 5:58:08 PM]
Advertisement
Also, there are a number of specific programs you might be interested in. If you want to create text-based games, search around for TADS (Text Adventure Development System.) There is an HTML version you''d probably have a blast with.

TADS is very straignt-forward. Someone with no programming experience could create something ... workable, anyway, in a few minutes. And if you learn C or C++, you''ll find it easy to modify all sorts of stuff.

TADS is free, and you can use it to made commercial games, if you like. But I''m not sure where to find it. I found my copy on the CD accompanying "Game Design: Theory and Practice" (which is a good book, by the way.)

There are also a number of ready-made RPG-creation systems around. Some are free.

Of course, there''s nothing like creating your own game completely from scratch. But few games are created that way these days.

Jonathon
quote: "Mathematics are one of the fundamentaries of educationalizing our youths." -George W. Bush

"When a nation is filled with strife, then do patriots flourish." - Lao Tzu