Advertisement

I have some questions! Please help answer them

Started by August 08, 2002 05:04 PM
5 comments, last by sharpgames 22 years, 1 month ago
Hi, I am new to programming and I have a few questions. 1) I am fifteen, and I wish to persue a career in video game programming, do I need to start learning now? 2) Should I be learning programming before I go to College/University? 3) What coarses should I take in College/University that I need to become a programmer and what modern game programming jobs require now adays. 4) How long did it take for you to learn c++/c programming language. 5) Do you have any tips for me? 6) What age did you start to learn programming? Thank you for your answers :D [Removed the caps from the title. They were very annoying. / Yann] [edited by - Yann L on August 8, 2002 6:49:28 PM]
WARNING! The following post will corrupt your mind? Continue? [Y/N]
I have a tip, cut back on the caps!

Its not knowing the path but walking it.
-----------------------------When men speak of the future, the Gods laugh.An apology for the devil: it must be remembered that we have heard one side of the case. God has written all the books.Samuel Butler (1835 - 1902)
Advertisement
1) Yes
2) God yes
3) BS/c Computer Science is defacto standard. Though computer games courses can help or a good demo to send to the company etc.
4) In all honesty theres always more to learn (well atleast for me)
5) Take it slowely, don''t try to do much too soon and don''t expect to be doing a 3D engine straight away, it takes alot of time to get to this level.
6) 12

Ballistic Programs
1. yes.
2. yes.
3. programming. software stuff. math.
4. Still learning it.
5. Click the "For Beginners" link.
6. 7

Don''t listen to me. I''ve had too much coffee.