🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to start?

Started by
13 comments, last by josh_pape 24 years, 2 months ago
Hi, I have no programming experience but would really like to start programming, with the final outcome being games. The most complex language I know is html! What I was wondering was How did everyone start? Does any one know of any tutorials and could any one recommend a language to start off on. Thanks for the help, Josh ''There''s a crack in everything, thats how the light gets in.''
''There''s a crack in everything, thats how the light gets in.''
Advertisement
1. Get a cheap compiler (Probably MS Visual C++ 6 Introductory Edition or that free Borland compiler.)
2. Get a book on C++ (Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days, C++ for Dummies, Etc.)
3. Get used to C++.
4. Buy a book on game programming.
5. Get used to that.
6. Keep practicing.

(P.S. Personally, I like C++. But you can also learn Visual Basic or even java-script for the purpose of making games. You might want to look at them and see which one you might like better.)
I started programming 3 years ago with QBasic, but after some lines I realized that PASCAL is much better. I wrote many DOS programs with PASCAL, I learned assembly language, accessing the hardware directly, DOS functions, ......
In summer 1999 I learned C, C++ and windows programming.

I think you should buy a good book about C and C++ like "Teach yourself C++ in 21 days" and you''ll need a book about windows programming.

Visit our homepage: www.rarebyte.de.st

GA
Visit our homepage: www.rarebyte.de.stGA