🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Genisis and Growth Formulae

Started by
3 comments, last by cyssis 21 years, 6 months ago
Hi, I have been programming a game system for a few months now (mostly the graphical engine, but somewhat on AI, etc)and I have arrived at a sort of empasse... My game (tenatively titled "Genisis: Origins of Species" is a rts / rpg / fps (I''m not a novice by any means... and I''ve been making significant progress) is based in space, and begins as a space rts. I plan to make it so that the player can control hundreds of planets & races, but I absolutely refuse to program them all... What I was planning to do was to write a sort of data-mipmapping kind of prog. Basically I plan to seed the program w/ major details, and as soon as the player begins to interact with a specific planet and race, the prog would generate the background and history to the races / ecology / and politics of the planet and store it in a database (so that the data is always the same on the same machine). However I''m at a loss as to how to proceed... I''ve never done anything on this massive of a scale (although I have worked w/ evolutionary alg''s before) and I''d appreciate some feedback as to how I should begin... I know it''s somewhat nebulous, but any response (intelligent, not "start typing" ) would be appreciated.
Advertisement
I hope the following is what you are after. If it''s not, then I have misunderstood what you are seeking. This idea is based on randomly selecting a race from a very large set of possible races, without having to store each one individually.

As a first step, you''re going to need to define a set of characteristics that possible races/ecologies/political systems can have.