Advertisement

Artificial Behaviour - not Artificial Intelligence

Started by February 12, 2003 02:38 PM
16 comments, last by UlfLivoff 21 years, 6 months ago
Hello, This is my first post to this forum, and i must admit that I'm pretty much a noob in AI forums. Having that said, I'm a master student and have had classes in AI - covering A*, different searches, csp problems, neural networks and all that. My problem is this: None of that can tell my how I program a character to have a realistic behaviour (think of the grunts in half-life or operation flashpoint and multiply it with 100). Therefore, I need what I call Artificial Behaviour, which I'm writing my master theisis on now. The aim of my project (being an ex army-officer-candidate) is to have a person who pretty much behaves like a soldier, fresh out of bootcamp, including all the squad tactics, formations and simple communication - all modeled 100% according to the field manuals. I've implemented approx. half of the actions and tactics I want to cover, so all you guys who are already thinking of writing that it cant be done, can stop flaming me he he What I need is some solid theory regarding the overall simulator. how should actions triggered by vision or hearing be handled compared to actions determined by orders or main objectives, and so on. What I have now is working, and it is working pretty good. I just have a feeling that there's been a lot of reasearch in this area and that i'm doing that reasearch all over again So, here's my questions: anyone know of papers, books, websites concerning simulation of complex human behaviour - not using neural networks or techniques like that. more specific: human behaviour able to simulate out-of-a-manual like behaviour - much like a recipe - eksamples are first aid, army tactics, basically anything that is formal described. ********* edited: I need more than just a link to "AI wisdom" on amazon.com ********* Thanks, Ulf Livoff Technical University of Denmark [edited