Advertisement

absolute newbie...

Started by May 19, 2003 01:58 PM
2 comments, last by yodaman 21 years, 3 months ago
Hiya Im currently working on a 3d game engine and I was planing on making all AI scripted... Each type will use its own base class the script would just further upon it. Anyway, I really have no idea about how AI works but I do have a basic understanding of some things like path finding, Im going to implement a way point system wich then the entity''s will travel along (like a non interactive demo?). If any one can explain what AI really does and works i would be very greatful! Thanx ~yodaman
www.jinx.com www.thebroken.org www.suprnova.org www.mozilla.org
quote: Original post by yodaman
If any one can explain what AI really does
and works i would be very greatful!

That''s not terribly far from asking "if anyone can explain what a computer really does and works..."

The answer is:
"It does things that look smart in the way you tell it to."

If you are going to need a better answer to your question, it will take a few volumes... or a more focused question.

Dave Mark - President and Lead Designer of Intrinsic Algorithm LLC
Professional consultant on game AI, mathematical modeling, simulation modeling
Co-founder and 10 year advisor of the GDC AI Summit
Author of the book, Behavioral Mathematics for Game AI
Blogs I write:
IA News - What's happening at IA | IA on AI - AI news and notes | Post-Play'em - Observations on AI of games I play

"Reducing the world to mathematical equations!"

Advertisement
Yea, that was a dumb thing to say

I quess what I wanted to know is how might you go about handling all of this AI. Again, im making everything scripted. Where though might you draw a line between whats script and whats hard coded? I figure that hard code may include core functionaility