🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

script blocks c++ execution

Started by
3 comments, last by thedustbustr 20 years, 11 months ago
Sample python scripted cutscene: def cutscene(): camera.orbit(0,0,0) #orbit around the origin sleep(1) actor1.say("The evil prince will kill us all!") sleep(1.5) If I execute this script, won''t the sleep()''s prevent the engine from updating (so there would be a 2.5 second gap where no frames get rendered)? How do you avoid this? 1) I could run Python in a (c++) thread, but that is a royal pain in the ass and then I''d have to make all of my objects thread-safe. Not to mention I have no experience with threading in C++. 2) I could transfer execution of the engine to the python script, so the script is responsible for calling kernel.update(), but then it is up to the scripter to remember to do this and forces me to make the entire game engine available to python (I don''t want to do this). Also with a hierarchy of kernel.update() calling a python script calling kernel.update() could easily cause recursion problems and get out of control. 3) I could use Python threads to spawn cutscene() in it''s own thread and then return to C++, but again, I have to make all of my objects thread-safe. I like option three the best, but isn''t there an easier, or more important, Better, way? Thanks, Dustin
Advertisement
What I do in my engine is call the function "cutscene", with this code:
# the first bitdef cutscene():camera.orbit(0,0,0) #orbit around the origin'# tells the engine to call the next function after 1 secondg_Kernel.UpdateAfterWait( 1000, "myScript", "cutscene2" )'# the second bitdef cutscene2():actor1.say("The evil prince will kill us all!")'# tells the engine to call another function after 1.5 secondsg_Kernel.UpdateAfterWait( 1500, "myScript", "someOtherFunctionHere")