🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

OpenGL - How did YOU learn?

Started by
22 comments, last by Dragen 23 years, 11 months ago
Hey all, Very nice site, and excellent tutorials! I guess I would consider myself a newbie, although I have been programming for quite some time.. I have never touched C++ until a few years back, and I didn''t study much.. and this is my first time using OpenGL. I am picking up on it pretty quick, but i''m trying to get a good idea of what you guys went through and what was the best way to learn. Sure, it''s a broad question, and it''s different for everybody. But I think, somehow, everybody has something in common, the desire and the dream to create your own 3D world. This has inspired me. Unfortunately, I find myself getting discouraged after I run into problems. I never give up, but I push myself very hard. What is the best way to learn everything, thoroughly, and without going insane? I don''t know if many of you followed the hornets.org site.. they had tons of demos.. and TBL (The Black Lotus) team absolutely blew me away. Some day, I am going to write some really cool demos. Unfortunately, all I know how to do is texture map a cube.. and having tons of problems figuring out how to load multiple textures. Any ideas on that? Share your thoughts, I think it''s cool to hear about everyone''s story on OpenGL.. (The ultimate 3D API on the face of the planet!) See you guys around! -Dragen Remember, Software doesn''t have bugs, it just has random features.
Remember, Software doesn''t have bugs, it just has random features.
Advertisement
Welcome,

But let me first warn you, for me, going insane was inevitable.. For others, maybe OpenGL is easy.. But for me it''s quite hard..