🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

ferite language?

Started by
9 comments, last by Wijitmaker 20 years, 5 months ago
Hello, this is my first time posting in the scripting forum, so I beg for your understanding in my ignorance I''m the project lead for a freeware historical RTS game called 0 A.D. and we are researching out some scripting lanuages for the game. Up untill this point had decided to go with LUA. But, our LUA scripter just left the project due to some real life matters relating to the health of his wife. Because he was really the only one who understood the lanaguage (and he really didn''t get allot of documentation down), we thought it would be best to re-evaluate the scripting as an entire module. We just hired a few ''newer'' members who will be working with the scripting. They stumbled apon a language called ferite. I was searching this forum for information and glanced over the threads of the last year and I don''t think it has been brought up in this forum before? So my question is, have any of you had any experiance with this language before? Do you know any good points or bad points about ferite? How does it compare to LUA? Here is what we came up with so far: + Powerful. + Familiar C-style syntax. + Fairly well known. + Easily extendable without digging in engine. + Clear and very organised (looks like C++ but without the complexity). + Been in development for 3 years. + Comes with xml, dbi, regex, and other goodies built in. + It comes with a complete API just for implementation. + Integrated language, so we don''t have to compile scripts (though we''ll compile our built-in modules -- low level -- with their builder tool; must make that a final-release thing, though, so that we can keep the modules open during development for faster update). Could also bundle it to use for syn