🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

LUA Question

Started by
6 comments, last by TristanDBS 20 years, 5 months ago
Well, I finally got LUA working, but it''s version 4.01. It can still do classes though by the following example: http://lua-users.org/wiki/SimpleCppBinding This is great that I can make C++ classes and use them in LUA, but how can I do the following: Make an instance of a C++ class in C++ Pass that instance to LUA Modify it in LUA Is it as easy something like just setting a global? So, far I can register C++ functions in LUA, vice versa and modify/set globals. This is my first time working with LUA so I may be overlooking something and I''ve actually just started improving in C++ over the past few days. So, any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Advertisement
I''m not sure what exactly you''re having a problem with. Is it the act of creating an object in C++ and exposing it to Lua that is the issue? If so, then you probably just need to look into the C API for adding objects to the stack, or the docs addressing modifying the table of globals, both of which are in the reference manual.

[ MSVC Fixes | STL Docs | SDL | Game AI | Sockets | C++ Faq Lite | Boost
Asking Questions | Organising code files | My stuff | Tiny XML | STLPort]
I''ll look into that. I found an example of doing what I need, but it''s for version 5.0. So, now I just need to get a compilied version of 5.0.
Maybe this linke will help? Lua: technical note 5

Dave Dak Lozar Loeser

"Software Engineering is a race between the programmers, trying to make bigger and better fool-proof software, and the universe trying to make bigger fools. So far the Universe in winning."
--anonymous
Dave Dak Lozar Loeser