🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

building luabind

Started by
3 comments, last by XXX_Andrew_XXX 19 years, 11 months ago
Someone once said
Quote: The recommended way using VC is to add *all* the luabind files to the workspace, but I found it faster and just as easy to compile luabind as a static library and then link to it - you just have to be careful about linking to the correct version (release / debug, multi-threaded / single-threaded)
How would one go about this? I using vc7 and I'm new to libraries.
<Fish>{
Advertisement
That would be me...

Just so you know, when I said faster I meant a little faster. The biggest tip is to make sure you only include the luabind headers into a small number of .cpp files. This isolates the number of compilation modules which will have the really slow builds.

Build times for anything that uses luabind are terrible because of the amount of templates in the header files. This helps a little if you needs to frequently 'clean' or 'rebuild all' in a solution.

Once you have the static library, prefer doing a 'clean' followed by a 'build' on the main project rather than using 'rebuild all'

- Create a new win32 project.

- On the 'Application Settings' tab, select 'static library' and turn 'precompiled headers' off.

- Add all of the files in the luabind\src directory to the project. Adding the headers to the project is optional, they'll get pulled in automatically, and you shouldn't need to ever change them.

- Add the include directories to both lua and luabind (you can do this through either tools->options or via project properties-> C++ -> General -> 'additional include directories'

- in the project you want to use luabind from, right click on the solution in the solution explorer -> add -> 'existing project'.