🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

MMO project looking for scripting guru

Started by
4 comments, last by MyKillK 19 years, 10 months ago
Hello, A friend and I have been researching & developing MMO server technology for around 4 years now. We started with an Asheron's Call emulator (ACE if any of you remember it), and then decided to work on technology for our own game. Since then we've written, scratched, and rewritten countless server architectures, always looking at how to make things better. We've finally decided on a server architecture (more-or-less, I'm sure it'll still change in the future). It's based loosely on Scott Bilas's Fubi concept: http://www.drizzle.com/~scottb/gdc/. However, we've changed and extended his concept quite a bit to support the following features: - Minimal context switching and near elimination (and possible complete elimination in the future) of lock contentions. This should allow impressive performance as context switching and lock contention are - IPCs as well as RPCs. - Scripting (and IPCs and RPCs for all scripted code). Althought it's not totally complete, everything is coming together quite nicely. The framework is basically done. We just need to add network code for RPC functionality and some fiber code for IPC functionality. The groundwork is laid out for tight integration of a scripting language. However, neither one of us are experienced in designing and implementing a custom scripting language. This is where you come in. We're looking for someone who is very talented in this area to help us out. If you've wanted to work on a MMO project but have been turned off by unexperienced teams with unrealistic expectations, this is your chance to join a team that fits your abilities. Either reply here or send me an email at mykillk@gmail.com Michael Koehmstedt