🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Seeking Assistance

Started by
7 comments, last by Casanova 23 years, 8 months ago
I love video games, but I don''t know whether to be a graphic artist or a programmer. Please help!
"There is no speed limit in the pursuit of excellence"
Advertisement
I hope this doesnt end up to be one of those art vs programming threads as there have been soooo many recently. Im an artist but i have an interest in being proficient in both. if you have the patience to sit in front of a monitor lots then programming is for you but if you like to have an outside life that does not involve massive hair pulling, take art. chicks dig art..just kidding.besides as it has been mentioned before, no matter how good your physics engine is, if the graphics arent pulling their weight (which is more than we would all like to lead on) then it wont make a lick of difference.
Essentially, you will want to do what you enjoy and can do without the prospect of insanity. but you will never be all of a team so..

Allow the flaming to begin
Conshape Electronic Arts
If you can draw and you are good at it then be a gfx artist. If ya can program and are good at it then be a programmer. I fya can do both well then do which ever you enjoy most (and endure my hate forever coz I would love to be able to do that )

=============
Phantom
'Things can't get any worse..'
They did...

Edited by - The Phantom on October 12, 2000 4:16:43 AM
=============Phantom''Things can''t get any worse..''They did...
Programmers get paid more.