Advertisement

SDL or Allegro?

Started by January 10, 2005 02:02 PM
11 comments, last by TriSwords 19 years, 8 months ago
Which of these is better? I have not looked at SDL in detail, but recently played a game with SDL that was very well made. I have looked at allegro, but not in a huge amount of detail, what do you guys think?
Well I have never used Allegro before - so I do not know anything about it, but SDL seems to be a good choice for beginners. It all depends on what you want to accompish and in how much time. I know making a game in SDL is fast compared to using DX or OGL because SDL takes care of all the low level details already - you just start adding in your game code. As a side effect, you have little control over how some things operate on the low level side. You cannot ask which is better - because better is an opinion based on the task that needs to be done. Once you can give details one what you want to do - picking between the two should be easier.

- Drew
Advertisement
I use allegro, and it is great. I have seen some SDL code, and it looks more in depth then allegro code. If your a beginner, Allegro is a good choice and if you plan on learning allegro, get the book "Game Programming All in One 2nd Edition".
-----------------------------Play Stompy's Revenge! Now!
I've had experiences with both and must say that, in my opinion, SDL is easier to get started with. It also poses as a nice starting point towards jumping into OpenGL programming.
Rob Loach [Website] [Projects] [Contact]
Quote: Original post by Stompy9999
I use allegro, and it is great. I have seen some SDL code, and it looks more in depth then allegro code. If your a beginner, Allegro is a good choice and if you plan on learning allegro, get the book "Game Programming All in One 2nd Edition".

I have that book, but have not looked at it extensively.

Alright, thanks everyone, I might research both, so I can use both even when needed.