🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Getting Started

Started by
1 comment, last by webspynner_99 24 years, 7 months ago
Since you know html already, learning BASIC would be a waste of time.
I recommend starting with C (DOS), then move on to C++ and Java.
A good DOS compiler would be Turbo C/C++ 3.0, or if you can get your hands on MS Visual C++ 97/99, start with that, since DOS is disappearing.
There are alot of free tutorials on the web that teach you the basics of c/c++. I taught myself C by downloading lots of source code and modifying/recompiling it to learn how it all works.

Downloads:  ZeroOne Realm

Advertisement
I'm new to programming. I know HTML and JavaScript. Lately I've been experimenting with DHTML to make games. I've actually figured out how to manipulate objects on the screen with a mouse using DHTML. This has peaked my interest in making games.
I'd like to know were would be a good place to start to learn to make games? What language should I start with? What about compilers?