🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

capn_midnight

Started by
1 comment, last by capn_midnight 17 years, 8 months ago
Workshop participation thread for capn_midnight
Advertisement
My name is capn_midnight and I'm an alcoh.... crap, wrong room.

Seriously now. I primarly work as a web application developer. This work may soon see me moving to the grand state of Illinois. In college, I studied Computer Science with a concentration in Computer Graphics. Computer Science was a last minute decision on my part; most people expected me to studied Graphic Design.

When I was... I forget how old (11? 12?), I studied under an artist by the name of Ski Holm. Ski taught me everything I know about drawing and sketching. Over time, my activity level in the arts has ebbed and flowed. At one point it had been two years since I had touch a drawing pad and pencil.

Lately, I have pushed myself to express myself artistically. This has most recently culminated in attempts at painting. I have never formally studied painting, it is just something that I fiddle around with.

You can see a small sampling of my art work in the DeviantArt link in my signature. I will include a few thumbnails in this thread.

[Formerly "capn_midnight". See some of my projects. Find me on twitter tumblr G+ Github.]

Well, I'm not going to do thumbnails. Some of the images are a little large, so I'll just do links.

These are very old, the first one is from my time with Ski and the second one is a few years after I stopped. The sig in the second pic says it's from 1998, so I was 15 when I made it.

Chronologically, I don't think I put this in the right spot, but whatever. This piece took me 3 solid days. It's a mix of colored pencils and whatnot on black paper. It was one of my first attempts at rendering something from my imagination alone.