🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Cbits

Started by
7 comments, last by Oluseyi 17 years, 4 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Cbits
Advertisement
Hello, here are some of the first assignments as I try to catch up:

10-28 assignment

This is a sketch I did for a class project, used a book for reference.

As for my art knowledge I would say I'm fairly knowledgeable. I've taken classes in high school and college, although they havent been too technical. In my experience, high school art classes are very exploratory and college classes are very conceptual, neither type focused very much on actual techniques. I'm mainly self taught, just doodling on my own. I look forward to using the workshop to get motivated into praticing on a regular basis and also for some good feedback. I think regardless of your ability, constant pratice and feedback will always make you better.

10-29 assignment

Reference picture:

SketcH:

Not bad at all! [smile]

One thing you'll want to keep in mind for future drawings is that not every stroke you make on the paper ends up in the drawing. You can put down what are called construction lines, to help you with situations where objects overlap, then erase them afterwards - or, if they don't detract from the drawing, or even add to it, leave them in!

In the handle of your scissors, the body of the phone is slightly out of alignment. Using construction lines would have solved that problem. When I do compositions that involve multiple objects, I do very light construction/composition sketch lines and later choose which ones to darken and refine.

Excellent start.