🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Do you use C or C++?

Started by
7 comments, last by Chappa 24 years, 6 months ago
I'm ashamed to say that I started coding in C++ and missed C out altoghter and as a result I have a fair idea about where C stops and C++ takes over, but not nearly as much as I should have.
Advertisement
I think good object oriented design is incredibly powerful, so consequently I do C++. Perhaps following posts will prove me wrong but it seems to me that I've come across a large number of folks that don't really like it. OO certainly doesn't make sense at first and it can be more difficult to work with but when its well done, especially on a large app, you'll sing its praises. That's my humble experience at least!
I have to say that C++ makes code much easier to understand than straight C. It's much easier to think in terms of objects than a bunch of functions and data strewn all over the place.

------------------
Breakaway Games

Former Microsoft XNA and Xbox MVP | Check out my blog for random ramblings on game development

I think you'll find that most game developers know that there are problems with both C and C++. So they use a combination of the two languages commonly refered to as C+. This way they get the benefits of both languages with out also getting the problems that are associated with them.
Joseph FernaldSoftware EngineerRed Storm Entertainment.------------------------The opinions expressed are that of the person postingand not that of Red Storm Entertainment.
I prefer to use C++, although I sometimes use the blend eva mentioned. I also use straight C on occasion for some projects at work.