Advertisement

Do you need to be a gamer?

Started by June 30, 2009 09:51 PM
3 comments, last by dmartineau 15 years, 2 months ago
I'm new to gamedev and have been poking around the site for a couple of days because I'm a musician and composer and have been told by my good friend--gamer to the core--that a lot of my music would fit quite well in the genre. I used to spend a great deal of time gaming but in recent years have gotten away from it. I certainly do not underestimate the craft nor do I think it's something to pursue because it's "easy". I have experience composing for modern dance and theater and enjoy creating music for the visual arts. So, finally to my question, do developers look for a die hard gamer in their composers for creative and technical reasons? Any thoughts would be appreciated!! DM
Hello dmartineau. I say they look for a good musician. If you have the music style that they need for a particular game, and the portfolio to back it, then that should be it. I don't see why you would need to be a die hard gamer to make music.
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by dmartineau
So, finally to my question, do developers look for a die hard gamer in their composers for creative and technical reasons?

No, but, if you don't play games there's a good chance that you will be less ready to deal with the technical and design issues as someone who does. You don't have to be a hardcore player, but game music often differs from other music in the way it is presented and used.

Example of a couple of things you might not realise can be involved if you haven't spent some time listening to the music as you play games:
The Music of Anarchy Online
Design With Music In Mind: A Guide to Adaptive Audio for Game Designers