🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

hack a bounding box into nehe milkshape loader

Started by
2 comments, last by bzroom 14 years, 8 months ago
hai.. im trying to create collision detection in nehe's milkshape model loading tutorial but im not sure how to do it.im very new to this field.can anyone plz guide me or atleast show me the right path to get this right?
Advertisement
I would make it so that any mesh element with a "_bb" appended to the name is loaded as a collision primitive, and not drawn.

So your model would have two meshes, character and character_bb. It might be kind of tricky to deduce the box's center, size, and orientation from the 8 randomly ordered vertices but i'm sure it's possible.

Alternatively, and for things like frustum culling, if no bounding box is found you can simply create an AABB around the entire model by iterating the vertices and keeping track of the min and max in all axes.
ya i roughly understand what u mean but im not sure how to put it in the source code.can u please explain me further in detail??or can u atleast show me a website for me to refer??thanks in advance
I'm assuming that all of the meshes are stored with their name in the .ms3d file. In your model loader it will be iterating over the list of meshes and copying them into some data structure. At that point it should look and see if there is a "_bb" appended to the mesh name. If so, it should not add the mesh to the renderable portion of the model structure, but rather it should add a collision primitive to the "additional data" portion of the model structure.