🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Schooling Options

Started by
0 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 4 months ago
First of all, hello to everyone - this is my first post. I have been thinking about a potential career in this industry for a fair bit of time, but have only recently been actively trying to find out more. Just for a bit of background, I have a BSc in Biology from a few years back and worked in unrelated fields as a Project Coordinator for a few years. I recently returned to University to try and find something more interesting as a career path. I've been studying Applied Physics for the last six months with great success but I'm constantly thinking about Game Programming and Design. My questions pertain to the level and amount of training I would require to successfully enter the industry at the most junior of levels. I've been looking at some programs, most notably those at Full Sail and Digipen, which seem geared towards Game Creation, as well as some other College Diploma programs in New Media and also a full-blown Computer Science degree. My main question is this: Would doing a full-on four-year degree make me more competitive for employment as a game programmer than the shorter, more condensed programs offered at Full Sail and/or Digipen? I understand an employers desire to see candidates with Bachelor's degrees but also wonder how much of that is based on non-related factors like the roundedness of an individual. That is something I got during my first degree and I would much rather focus my studies on the most marketable and crucial material. I have a very solid background in Maths - up to differential equations and have taken a few discrete math courses as well, so I'm really looking for some advice as to what would allow me to attain my goals in a shorter period of time.