🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Text Parsing in C++

Started by
6 comments, last by Sir Derk 22 years, 10 months ago
I'm just wondering... how would u parse through text in c++? i'm pretty much a beginner here so i'm not to familiar with a lot of stuff. Umm...ok..say, for example, u have the text "hello world!" and u want to take "hello" and "world!" and put it in an array called..uhh...array... so in other words u want array[0] = "hello" and array[1] = "world!" and well generally, the seperator would be the space " ". so theoretically, the process would be for each character in the text, check if the character (being processed) is " " (a space). if it is, then store everything from that point to the last point processed to the variable array[array counter] and increament the array counter by 1. next character and well in vb coding it would look somewhat like this

dim i as long
dim lastpos as long
dim array(1) as string  'using 1 cuz i know how many items there are in the text :)
dim arraycounter as long

lastpos = 1
for i = 1 to len(text)
 if mid(text, i, 1) = " " then
  array(arraycounter) = mid(text, lastpos, i - lastpos - 1)
  arraycounter = arraycounter + 1 '*sigh* damn vb has no ++ op =(
  lastpos = i + 1
 end if
next i

well i just typed that out, out of the blue....but see..now i need to convert that into c. any suggestions? Edited by - Sir Derk on August 10, 2001 1:58:12 AM
------^-^ Smile ^-^Sir Derk
Advertisement
Use strtok();