🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which 3D Modeling software?

Started by
17 comments, last by Gilderoot 24 years, 5 months ago
Yo, ok. I learned this about 2 years ago. There are many 3D modelling programs, as you were mentioning before. Most game artists prefer to use 3D Studio Max. The lastest version is 3. It is quite expensive but you can make professional looking models in it.

I am into programming and 3d modelling and when I talk to professional 3d modellers they all think 3d Studio Max is a shitty modeller. I personally think it's easy and really good, I've been using it for 2 years.

The main reason it is rated so low by many pros is because it's bones, which are a structure of bones that can control objects, is really shit, but there are 100s of plugins some very expensive, some free that make up for these problems.

Here are all the 3d modelling programs I can think of:

3d Studio Max 1.2 / 2.5 / 3.0
RayDream Studio
Truespace
LightWave
Maya (Which is suppose to be one of tha best on tha market and tha most hardest to use and one of tha most expensive, mainly for character animation)
PowerAnimator
SoftImage
POVRay(Freeware, and it's a raycaster, but it uses a C-based language for modelling, I personally think it's stupid)

I know RayDream Studio is cheap in cost.

These are ratings of tha modellers from what I hear from tha pros.

1. Maya
2. PowerAnimator
3. Truespace or 3D Studio Max or Lightwave
4. RayDream Studio
I'm not sure about SoftImage

But in tha end it's up to you, you gotta go around to all tha modelling sites you can find and check out tha models and go to the actually modeling sites.

I really like 3D Studio Max, which I'm sticking to right now.

3D Studio Max - www.ktx.com
Truespace - www.caligari.com