Advertisement

Simple first person shooter AI

Started by November 17, 2010 02:36 AM
7 comments, last by Steadtler 13 years, 9 months ago
Hi.

I'm making a very simple first person shooter with OpenGL, of course with some enemies.
I need to "animate" them, so that they move around the world and shoot when meet the player. In other words, I have to realize a simple AI.

I'm completely new with the argument, so I'm looking for a good tutorial (possibly a practical one, with some samples and code).
Note that I'm looking for a very simple solution. Enemies should only explore the world, even randomly, and fight the player.

What do you sugget?

Thanks.
Hello Antar3s,

Well, your description of the AI makes it sound simple, but I think it will be difficult to solve it simply.

Is your FPS 2D? (Is it like Wolfenstein 3D) Also, it's relevant if it's grid based, sector based, or if the geometry is open.
So, alright that part is important when solving the problem, but right now I can think of a procedure to gradually achieve what you're looking for.

1: Make a function, or multiple levels of functions, ultimately deciding whether an AI can "see" a given point in your world. Ex. ai::is_visible(point_in_space)
By this, you can have the still stationary AI's shoot you when you come into their FOV within a specific range.

2: Use a pathfinding algorithm coupled with some random plotting of waypoints to make the AI's decide where to go.
Test this by actually drawing the paths; edges and nodes represented by lines and other simple geometry.
Eventually with a the value of the cost function shown above. Lot's of work for just the pathfinding! I can recommend A*.
It's good to be able to add your own nodes while testing, to see if your applied A* actually works, and how it will act in a certain situation.

3: Allow the AI's to move, and implement reconsidering their path at regular intervals.