Advertisement

AI in a fighting game: Reactive or proactive?

Started by December 17, 2010 08:41 AM
7 comments, last by IADaveMark 13 years, 8 months ago
Hi all GD.Net!

I'm new to AI programming (except pathfinding) but, as always, I'm doing my homework ;)
Now, I started to develop an action adventure game which I would describe it for it's mechanics as being in the middle between Kingdom Hearts and Prince of Persia 2008.
As in KH, players are teamed with 3 members.

And finally the time for the AI has come.
I'm using state machines, so far I'm really happy with it. For the two allies I have a "TeamMember" state which is working wonderfully, my partners are very believable mates and feel interactive.

For NPC enemies, I have an "Alert" state, which is a WIP as of today, but it's going in the right direction. For now they stand still with and when an enemy (i.e. the player) enter it's LOS it goes into "Battle" mode. In the future they will support patrolling. Another state (not written yet) will be called "Search" which happens when the NPC losts sight of the player's whereabout, and is looking for him to engage again (I find the idea of walking straight to the player's position as if it were a psychic or see through walls even when he's hiding horrendous) .
TeamMembers when engage their enemies, also go into the "Battle" state.

The game mechanics will allow melee attacks (with combos, already implemented), and magic attacks (close or distant, not implemented yet). There is a defend button. If the character hit the defend button with right timing, he will counter the attack (the combo is broken and both opponents are able to take a counter measure).

With this introduction to better understand how my game works, here comes the question of the topic:

Now what are your thoughts on the "Battle" state?, I want to hear your opinions.

Randomly smashing the attack button with random combo combinations until target is dead, eventually firing some magic seems stupid.