🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Figuring out economic problems

Started by
36 comments, last by leopardpm 12 years, 1 month ago
First off, I am an AI novice. I have researched FSMs, Hierarchical behaviors, and had my mind melted while trying to understand neural-nets. I have implemented FSMs (not hard) and am in the process of adding a few twists.

Here is my thought: I do believe that emergent patterns that mimic life-like behaviors can and will be produced from a basic simple ruleset. So, along these lines, I am trying to program an AI which, based on a basic Maslov Hierachy filtered through a set of variables which are particular for each agent (lazy-thru-productive, weak-thru-strong, stupid-thru-smart, cowadly -thru-courageous, follower-thru-leader, homebody-thru-adventuresome, favorites: color blue, forests> mountains, fish>meat>fruits>bread, etc,), and watch the agent 'live' in its virtual world, scratching out a meager existence and interacting with other agents. My biggest problem that I have encountered so far is in trying to determine which of multiple possible solutions to pick. I have some background in micro-economics and am trying to incorporate some of that into the decision process, so, one thought is to rate each possible solution based on an estimate of time it would take to complete it, weighted by the different categories of labor involved, and come up with a value which could then compare to other possibilities.