Advertisement

Website Feedback

Started by March 03, 2011 11:10 PM
5 comments, last by StauntonLick 13 years, 6 months ago
Hey GameDev Community,

I recently overhauled my website, and would like feedback from unbiased strangers about its effectiveness. I'm a composer, so please let me know what you would recommend as if you were considering hiring me; if there is anything you would want to see that isn't on my site, or if anything that is on my site would be a deal-breaker for you.

Thanks a bunch!

Brandon Higley
[email="composer@brandonhigley.com"]composer@brandonhigley.com[/email]

Hi Brandon - nice site! I like the graphic design on the header, it looks very pro.

A couple of thoughts (bear in mind I'm a User Experience Designer in my day job so I might be overly critical!)

- The point size is a little small. I'd make it a bit bigger so help readability

- I wouldn't include info about your site design on the front page. It would be more useful if you had some relevant material to the potential visitor (e.g. latest additions to your portfolio, recent work that has been published, blog posts, etc). Which leads on to...

- Remember that the #1 aim of your site is to get people to listen to your music. To this end, I would suggest making the music player on the right way more prominent so it leaps out at the user. Additionally, you don't have a "portfolio" link on your nav bar. This would be the second place people will look for your music. Basically you have to make sure anyone coming to your site can find your music straight away, or they'll get confused and leave.

- Put your contact info on the header of your site (ideally email, twitter & phone number) in regular text format (i.e. don't encode them into an image) so that people can copy-paste them. Again, having a separate page for contact is fine - there's no harm in having multiple ways of doing something on a site in order to support the different ways people use the web.