🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Artificial Inteligence system using variables and random numbers

Started by
4 comments, last by FirestormX 22 years, 9 months ago
I am new to this field and Please tell me if my idea is a piece of **** because it very well may be. This is a Variable Based Artificial Intelligence System for the generalized ai of Nations: (VBAISN) The idea behind VBAISN is the use of two lists of variables dealing with each specific nation. The first list is the “Mindset” of a given nation. This predesigned list is a constant set of variables which define each possible intelligent action the given nation is able to do, and more importantly how inclined are they to do so based on their nations mindset on different issues. The second list of variables represent the influences on the nations. This list contains the same variable names as the “Mindset” list however these variables are not constant and are based strictly on the many influences upon the nation. For example if the gremlins are attacked by a group of goblins then the value of the variable Attack_goblin in the “Influence” list for the gremlins is raised, and at the same time the Trade_goblin variable is lowered. Obviously this represents the raised inclination to fight with the goblins and the lowered inclination to trade with them after the occurance. A program called the variable analyzer then compares the two lists within each nation, and makes decisions of what to do based on them. The root of these decisions is use of random numbers generated which decide the nations actions. For example if the nation has a “Mindset” variable Attack_goblin = 0 and its corresponding “Influence” variable raises to 10(out of ten), based on the difference between 0 and 10 there will be a random number drawn with a 50% chance of war. Keep i