🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Idea - Please Read and Add Input

Started by
1 comment, last by Cypher0914 13 years, 2 months ago
Hello,

I have been lurking the forums, off and on, for a while now. I have an idea for a story, only just recently started typing the information out. I was wondering if I could get some input on this.

Please keep in mind, this is my first time actually releasing a game idea of mine. I have had several, but never really told anyone about them, outside of an immediate circle, that is. Also, I am still learning the technical side of things. I do not have enough skill for what this game would need to actually be made, except for writing/designing.

Gameplay Basics:
Top-Down Arcade Shooter
RPG Elements (Experience, Leveling)
Puzzles

Gameplay Elements:
Killing Stuff, Combos/Shot Counting for Score Multipliers and Power bonuses
Gaining EXP/Leveling
Item/Treasure hunting
Weapon Creation

Story:
An ex Confederate Army General, Jebb (may change) is trying to reunite with his wife. The problem is, they are both deceased. Jebb's wife is peace in Heaven. Jebb, having lived a second, more evil life style, is tortured in the pits of Hell. Jebb strikes a deal with Death; In exchange for services rendered, Jebb will be reunited with his beloved.

Jebb is sent out on a mission to keep the seven seals of Hell from opening, preventing the Apocalypse from taking place. This quest will take Jebb to various parts of the world. A world, mind you, that Jebb is not acquainted to. You see, Jebb has been tortured in Hell a very long time, and times have indeed changed. From volcanoes to corporate offices, Jebb must complete missions as laid out by Death if he plans on seeing his wife ever again. But are Death's intentions pure?