🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is this method a right choice to start a game programming?

Started by
10 comments, last by mcnation 22 years, 9 months ago
Hey, I am a high school student who wants to be a game programmer. As the time goes, the technology changes quickly, right? I am just wondering what am I going to start with? I am thinking about this way - c++ -> API -> MFC -> DX Is that a right choice? I want to hear some voices from game programmers! Bye~
Hi~ I''m a beginner.
Advertisement
There is nothing called "API." There''s the Win32 API. Then there''s DirectX, which is a game programming API. Then there''s OpenGL which is a graphics API. C or C++ are the languages you should probably learn. MFC is evil, skip it.

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]
C++ & OOP => WIN32(Basics) => DX / OpenGL / SDL
Thank you guys for reply.
But there''s one more thing I want to know.
I heard there are several areas (maybe thousands of areas ^^
in game programming such as graphic programming, tools(editors), and AI. (and for the network programming -> database, network communication)
So, what is the game programming is that DX/OpenGL...
then what is the tools, AI? I am confused... I mean, what should I study? Can I just do one part in a group or do I have to know all of each a little bit and then participate?
Thanks..

Hi~ I''m a beginner.
DirectX and OpenGL aren''t languages, they''re API''s. DirectX handles Input, Sound, Graphics, et cetera. OpenGL handles graphics. The Win32 API handles lots of weird things having to do with Windows. Game programming is doing anything to make a game, so you''ll end up picking up lots of weird stuff .