🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

It wont show.....

Started by
8 comments, last by Nothingness 22 years, 9 months ago
I am just learning how to make a window, and the first one i made had no errors, but the window wont show up. Also the size of it is huge, the *.exe is 153kb and that has to be to big for a window that does nothing! Heres the source for the window

#include <windows.h>

#include <windowsx.h>

#include <stdio.h>

#include <math.h>

LRESULT CALLBACK WinProc(HWND hwnd, UINT msg, WPARAM wparam, LPARAM lparam)
{

PAINTSTRUCT ps;
   HDC        hdc;

switch(msg)
   {

case WM_CREATE:
	 {
	    return 0;
	 } break;

case WM_PAINT:
	 {
	    hdc = BeginPaint(hwnd,&ps);
		EndPaint(hwnd,&ps);
		return 0;
	 }break;

case WM_DESTROY:
	  {
	    PostQuitMessage(0);
		  return 0;
	  }break;

default:break;
   }//close  switch

return(DefWindowProc(hwnd,msg,wparam,lparam));
} //close winproc

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hinstance, HINSTANCE hprevinstance,
				   LPSTR cmdline, int cmdshow)
{

WNDCLASSEX winclass;
HWND       hwnd;
MSG        msg;

winclass.cbSize = sizeof(WNDCLASSEX);
winclass.style = CS_VREDRAW | CS_HREDRAW | CS_OWNDC | CS_DBLCLKS;
winclass.lpfnWndProc = WinProc;
winclass.cbClsExtra = 0;
winclass.cbWndExtra = 0;
winclass.hIcon = LoadIcon(NULL, IDI_APPLICATION);
winclass.hCursor = LoadCursor(NULL, IDC_ARROW);
winclass.hbrBackground = (HBRUSH)GetStockObject(BLACK_BRUSH);
winclass.lpszMenuName = NULL;
winclass.lpszClassName = "winclass";
winclass.hIconSm = LoadIcon(NULL, IDI_APPLICATION);

if(!RegisterClassEx(&winclass))
   return 0;

if(!(hwnd = CreateWindowEx(NULL,
                           "WINCLASSEX1",         //clss name

"Your Basic Window",             //title

WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW |WS_VISIBLE, //kind of window

0,0,                             //x,y starting coordinates