🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

D3D7 Full Screen

Started by
3 comments, last by I-Shaolin 24 years, 6 months ago
Okay, here''s the situation. I am an experienced 3D programmer in both strait software and Glide. I also know DirectDraw so when I decided to start a new engine with Direct3D, I didn''t figure I would have too much trouble at least getting something started. Go figure... Can anyone tell me why the following code doesn''t work? It dies when it tries to get the pointer to the back buffer, even though I double checked it with the DX samples. // Create Our DirectDraw Object if (FAILED(DirectDrawCreateEx(NULL, (void**)&g_lpDD7, IID_IDirectDraw7, NULL))) throw "Failed To Create The Main DirectDraw Object"; // Set The Cooperation Level if (FAILED(g_lpDD7->SetCooperativeLevel(g_hWnd, DDSCL_EXCLUSIVE / DDSCL_FULLSCREEN))) throw "Failed To Set The Cooperation Level"; // Set Our Display Mode if (FAILED(g_lpDD7->SetDisplayMode(640,480,32,0,NULL))) if (FAILED(g_lpDD7->SetDisplayMode(640,480,24,0,NULL))) throw "Failed To Set The Display Mode"; // Define Our Flipping Chain DDSURFACEDESC2 ddsd2; ZeroMemory(&ddsd2, sizeof(ddsd2)); ddsd2.dwSize = sizeof(ddsd2); ddsd2.dwFlags = DDSD_CAPS / DDSD_BACKBUFFERCOUNT; ddsd2.ddsCaps.dwCaps = DDSCAPS_PRIMARYSURFACE / DDSCAPS_3DDEVICE / DDSCAPS_FLIP / DDSCAPS_COMPLEX; ddsd2.dwBackBufferCount = 1; // Create Our Flipping Chain if (FAILED(g_lpDD7->CreateSurface(&ddsd2, &g_lpDDS7_Front, NULL))) throw "Failed To Create Our Flipping Surfaces"; // Define That We Want The Back Flipping Surface DDSCAPS2 ddsCaps2; ZeroMemory(&ddsCaps2, sizeof(ddsCaps2)); ddsCaps2.dwCaps = DDSCAPS_BACKBUFFER; // Get The Back Flipping Surface if (FAILED(g_lpDDS7_Front->GetAttachedSurface(&ddsCaps2, &g_lpDDS7_Back))) throw "Failed To Obtain Our Back Surface"; This is where the exception is t