🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Long-time beginner seeking advice

Started by
4 comments, last by slicer4ever 12 years, 1 month ago
Greetings !

First, I say long-time beginner because I studied the field (in my free time first, then in school), and I've been developing like half a dozen pathfinding system in the past few years... But I still suck at it.

I'm currently developing a RPG, and for the first time I have to concile high-performance with good pathfinding. I usually have only one of them.
In the past few months I've been exploring a lot of possibilities, but I'm still stuck : the best solution I found gets exponantially slow with long paths...

I think since I'm developing a Fallout-like game (not without the same kind of grid, but with the same kind of walls and obstacles), I'd like to know how they developed theirs.

I need my pathfinding to always find the best way. It is acceptable that the pathfinding be limited to a certain distance (I'm pretty sure Fallout's one was).

Now what did I try ?

I tried A* : the pathfinding is extremly quick whatever happens, but as soon as there are obstacles, the path become far from optimal.
Here's an exemple of what my A* would do :

- -> empty case
b and d -> begin and destination
x -> path
/ -> wall

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - b - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - x - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - x x x - - x - - - - - - - - -
- - - - x / x - - x - - / - - - - - - -
- - - - x / x x x x - - / - - - - - -
- - - - x / / / / / / / / / - - - - - -
- - - - - x - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - x x x d - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This is totally unacceptable. Maybe my implementation of A* is wrong, but I never found any way to implement it better than this.