🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Where does one start?

Started by
6 comments, last by tom76 22 years, 8 months ago
I am new to AI, where should I begin? Observe everything, remember more!
if (witisism == !witty) return to_hole
Advertisement
quote: Original post by tom76
I am new to AI, where should I begin?

Observe everything, remember more!

You don't say whether you're a high school student, a college student, somebody tired of their current career, etc. I'll assume you've got some classes ahead of you yet.

I'd start with a.) knowing my math and b.) knowing my history. Physics is becoming pretty darn important now that we've got the CPU to use on it, so that can't hurt. Find one or two areas to specialize in and focus on them; that's what you'll be selling if you decide to break into the industry.

The single best place to hunt for jobs is out at the Game Developer's Conference, held each year in San Jose (find out more at their site). It's horribly, ridiculously expensive, but the job fair there is second to none.

For general AI info you've already found the Web, and it's the best source around. Explore and experiment; that's your best approach.

Ferretman

ferretman@gameai.com
www.gameai.com

From the High Mountains of Colorado

Edited by - Ferretman on October 8, 2001 11:43:05 PM

Ferretman
ferretman@gameai.com
GameAI.Com

Sorry mate should have been clearer. I''ve got 3 1/2 years experience on games mags, 6 diplomas in C++, and I''m studying directX8 at the moment.
I''m looking on where to begin with regards to AI. Any tutorials for basic AI or "things you should know" guides?

Sorry mate should have been clearer.

No prob. I just wasn't sure.

I've got 3 1/2 years experience on games mags, 6 diplomas in C++, and I'm studying directX8 at the moment.