Advertisement

Drafting your Bill as a Freelancer

Started by July 19, 2012 10:50 AM
4 comments, last by bschmidt1962 12 years, 1 month ago
Hi guys,

Bit of time since I was last here but was looking for advice from the Freelancers (past & present), how do you go about setting prices for your work on projects? are there certain factors that always come into play.

I ask because I have been working for a gentleman doing sound for his Iphone game, I was under the impression it was unpaid but he contacted me yesterday and told me to estimate a figure for the work I have done I did no programing of audio into the game just sent him .Wav files, 4 sound effects and a small loop of menu music. This is my first time freelancing and basically trying to put a price on something I have created is what I'm finding tricky!
time spent * your hourly rate.

Normal rates where i am is between 30 and 200 euro per hour. (depending on where you live you might have to pay taxes, social security fees, VAT, etc so take that into consideration when setting the price) (Some jurisdictions will allow some tax free income from hobbies which would allow you to use lower prices if you only do a couple of small jobs each year)
[size="1"]I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
Advertisement

1. Subject: Drafting your Bill
2. trying to put a price on something I have created is what I'm finding tricky!

1. You mean "writing your invoice." But I gather you are not actually asking how to write an invoice (you can just Google how to do that).