🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Portfolio Review Request

Started by
4 comments, last by shacktar 9 years, 8 months ago

Hello,

I am a CAD tools developer looking to transition into the game industry as a programmer. After reading this site and some others, I see that my best bet is to supplement my experience with a portfolio of game-related projects.

My current portfolio is available here: http://www.shacharavni.com

I would like feedback on any aspects of it (website, resume, or code).

Thank you in advance for your time.

Advertisement

Well, the website doesn't look great, but you're not an artist or web designer, so that's totally fine.

What it is, though, is functional, which is great. You showcased three simple but very useful projects straight upfront, and your choice was excellent.

You proved:

1. You have basic networking experience

2. You understand how 3d rendering works (having build a simple one yourself)

3. You can make a basic game.

One major suggestion:

Don't link directly to a PDF for your resume... make it a page, and provide an optional download link for the PDF.

I would also suggest more detailed layman explanations of your research, although I'm already intrigued by your master's thesis.

Hello StarMire,

Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Don't link directly to a PDF for your resume... make it a page, and provide an optional download link for the PDF.

Thanks for the suggestion. I was actually planning on doing this so I'll give that a higher priority.

I would also suggest more detailed layman explanations of your research ...

I'll see what I can do about making those explanations more approachable.

Any other feedback is welcome.