🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Getting Destroyed in Programmer Screeners

Started by
17 comments, last by Ravyne 9 years, 4 months ago

Advice I had been given for years by recruiters while still in college was "work on your portfolio, publish games, get your own experience, get noticed."

That has worked to some extent. As a graduate, I've been getting "cold" opens from recruiters from all over. They send me a test without speaking to me at all, very opposite of regular job recruitment processes at the like of Microsoft/Facebook/Apple/ect, and they're massive. Like, 4-10 hours massive. One game shop sent me a 50 question short answer, essay, math, and programming test. So, without even getting to talk to someone about the position and the team, I'm getting subjected to lots of work for a position that I may not even like the sound of off the bat. Its a little weird. And the advice given is not conducive at all. I've made games in Unity, Unreal, Construct 2, XNA. I have published some and have prototyped many. But almost none of that has given me the experience and knowledge necessary to push through these screeners to even talk to someone it seems. The amount of vector math theory expected has been pretty mind boggling to me. These engines almost entirely hide those theories and automate it for you, so when these screeners ask to implement them, I tend to get stuck. I eventually come up with answers that I can test and they seem right and when I look them up to check they work out.