🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is this enough to start in Game Industry?

Started by
1 comment, last by Angel Navarro 9 years, 3 months ago
Hi all!
I'm a little bit lost, so I need feedback from more experienced professionals. I'm a Java developer from seven years ago, mainly in web applications. One year ago, I decided to make my first game for mobile devices, and currently I have two titles published:
Dark Snake
My last project for Android, in which I follow working in currently.
Screenshot_1_resized.png
Screenshot_2_resized.png
Monstegg
My first video game, made for Android and iOS.
monstegg_title-original.png
monstegg_picture_1_resized.png
For Android versions I have used LibGDX, and Cocos2d-iphone for iOS version. I have made all graphics and development work in both projects. You can download it on Google Play and App Store.
I know I have a lot of thing to learn yet, but, would be this enough to start in Game Industry? What skills are the minimum required to start as junior game developer?
Many thanks,
Regards,
Advertisement

I'm a Java developer from seven years ago, mainly in web applications ... Is this enough to start in Game Industry?

If you have already published your own games on both Android and iOS, you are already in the industry. You have made and released games for sale.

So congratulations on that!

Put that stuff on your resume when you apply for jobs, nice and big at the top as "Completed Games" with all the store links.

What skills are the minimum required to start as junior game developer?

That is a very different question. The skills required depend on the job.

A company may be looking for a programmer with skills in C++, Java, Objective C, Flash/ActionScript, Python, HTML and JavaScript, or just about anything else.