🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Introduction: Looking for answers

Started by
16 comments, last by Islet Sound 9 years, 3 months ago
Hello Gamedev community,
My name is Carlos Gherrera and I am a Spanish composer, passionate lover of videogames and their soundtracks. The first soundtrack that hooked me was the one from Final Fantasy 9, and since then, I did everything I could to become a composer.
Now, after many years of efforts, I am finally a composer, specialized in scoring for games and films, but I have found yet another obstacle in my path: I don't have games to score for.
I have worked in a couple of projects and also participated in the Global Game Jam, but sadly that's pretty much everything.
My strategy so far has been:
-Look online for companies that are developing games
-Sending a mail to those companies, offering my service as a composer (attaching samples of my work)
And I have noticed that only 2-3% of them answer my mails.
Could anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?
Is it there any strategy to follow when looking for projects?
Thanks,
Carlos Gherrera

P.S. link for the sample of my work I usually attach:
Advertisement

There are so many folks who make music, it is easy to get lost in the noise.

You need a good portfolio ( with successful music ) before anyone is going to take you serious, so I would suggest submitting your works to as many stock companies as you can, and see what works, and what doesn't.

A good place to start would be YouTube's Audio Library .

I cannot remember the books I've read any more than the meals I have eaten; even so, they have made me.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

I see...

Sorry, but I cannot understand something. As far a I know, Audio Libraries offer their music to any kind of project (I might be wrong).