🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Productivity - How Long is Too Long?

Started by
3 comments, last by 3DRTcom 9 years, 2 months ago
I'm relatively new to digital art, although I am a self taught traditional artist. So far, I've been working in sketchbook pro for about 4 months and just downloaded Inkscape last night (dabbled in it for about an hour).

I'm exploring the idea of freelance work to fund a small indie studio and I've heard that one of the ways to monetize is by charging hourly. So how long is reasonable for character concepts, environments concepts, sprites (2D assets), and eventually 3D assets. I understand that everyone works at their own pace but, no one will higher you if you take too long to get things done, making your prices redicilous.
Advertisement
Are you being supported by your family?
Understand that if you live by yourself, without financial support, you need to charge enough per hour to be able to eat, pay for utilities etc.

With this in mind, have a look at this wiki topic:
http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Freelance

So how long is reasonable for character concepts, environments concepts, sprites (2D assets), and eventually 3D assets. I understand that everyone works at their own pace