🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Advice for a Firsttimer

Started by
9 comments, last by anoxm 9 years, 2 months ago
Hi everyone!

I've recently started making my first indie game. Most of the gameplay is done and the art is comming along, so I thought it would be a good time to start thinking about music and sound. So, how do you go about looking at a game and figuring out the music.? Is this easier to do if the art direction is more finalized?

Some background: I took music theory in high school almost a year ago where I was laboe to study game music as a research project. I was also asked to compose something based on my research. It sucked in my opinion but it met the requirements.
Advertisement

Music theory is a good thing to know. I'm a self-taught guitarist, and it became easier for me to play music once I learned about scales and chord composition. All in all, I don't think there are any set rules for making music though. Just do your best and make what you like. I know it's not very helpful advice, but I found that's mostly what I do when I make music (playing a physical instrument as well as making electronic music). There are, however, some things that I've noticed over time. Maybe you'll find those more helpful! But please excuse my wording.

1. Boss battles tend to be more epic than the rest of the entire soundtrack. They usually have strings and horns, but of course not all of them do. An electric guitar with distortion is good too. Make boss battles the coolest music on the soundtrack. It makes the player feel like he or she is part of an epic event, which makes sense because the game's levels typically build up to boss battles. Sometimes boss music is sad (piano...), and that's usually because the battle is a sad part of the story.