🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Next Step? (Choosing Software to Compose)

Started by
7 comments, last by Assaji Tjahjadi 9 years, 1 month ago

Hi,

I'm old, or so it feels like.

I was a somewhat reknowned composer during the MOD/Tracker years (namely using Impulse Tracker for a decade).

Then I switched to straight MIDI trackers, but given MIDI's nature, it was very hard to determine exactly how this would play on different machines.

I'm also a multi-instrumentist (guitar/bass, drums, keyboards, trumpet, cello, etc.)

Lately, I've found myself asking what's the next step here. Given that I appreciate the concept of a tracker to compose music (as opposed to jumping straight to actual instruments), I'd be inclined to search for a tool that allows me this. Something simple, yet efficient.

I've heard of some files that can be used to remap MIDI-like files to actual complex instrument samples to get the best of both worlds and I'm curious.

Obviously, I'm on a budget here, and I want to keep it simple and cheap (or free, if anything decent pops up).

Any recommendations?

Advertisement

For about $600 you can get Pro Tools 11 and an ElevenRack interface. It will allow you to record and re-amp DI instruments like bass and guitars. This is your industry standard software.

For about $300 you can get CuBase which is the best of the home-user DAWs.

For about $200 you can get Reaper which is good for MIDI but not so good at live instrumentation. Apple's Logic is also in this price range but it's basically Garage Band in a new box.

For about $100 you can get FL Studio which is good for the price.

So from there it depends on what you consider cheap, and how you want to go in a price vs. quality. Pro Tools is the best, CuBase is good, Reaper and FL Studio are ok, Logic is fairly useless.