🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

what is the best way to design ai for games like x-o or chess

Started by
10 comments, last by Dave Hunt 9 years ago

hello my friends.

im working on a project like x-o and it happens in static discrete world. and im working on unity and scripting on c#.

in basic ai science the ai is implemented in space of states(i dont know the exact translation in english) but i think its a big work to make all of states and it need lots of process and work to do that and for a game you have to make different difficulities for the game and always choosing best move cantbe great.

i want to know what can be best choice to implement ai for these kinds of games.

thank you for helping me.

Advertisement
I have a lot of experience writing AI for board games, but I don't know enough about your game to give you solid advice.

I have a lot of experience writing AI for board games, but I don't know enough about your game to give you solid advice.

thank you for answering. just tell me how you write ai for a game like chess or x-o and i will expand and optimize it to my game.

thanks.

Is "x-o" a different name for Tic-Tac-Toe?

Hello to all my stalkers.

In my current course, we've been covering Minimax, Game Tree Theory and Monte Carlo.

These are good topics to research and implement for a fairly simple game like checkers, tic-tac-toe.

A major benefit of these approaches is that you can cut the search short and still have a fairly good set of decisions for your AI to use.

You're right that always choosing the best move is not the best approach, one of the major parts of AI for games is to make them enjoyable, which usually means humanising them.

You may also want to poke machine learning and genetic algorithms, so you can train your AI to identify and conquer patterns.