🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

DDS imaging problem

Started by
7 comments, last by AnuragR 9 years, 1 month ago

Hello everyone,

I am kind of new to 3dArt. So may be my query will seem noob.

Problem is, i am working an MMORPG game visual, specifically the weapons which are defined via .DDS texture in client files.

When i am replacing those .DDS with mine .DDS files and run the client, it says client corrupted and game crashes.

I used Photoshop with nvidia texture tools.

Tried almost each and everying;

1. keeping alpha on/off

2. all DXT with mipmapping on/off

But nothing seems to be working. Is there anyone who can help me out ? :)

Advertisement

Hello everyone,
I am kind of new to 3dArt. So may be my query will seem noob.

Problem is, i am working an MMORPG game visual, specifically the weapons which are defined via .DDS texture in client files.
When i am replacing those .DDS with mine .DDS files and run the client, it says client corrupted and game crashes.

I used Photoshop with nvidia texture tools.
Tried almost each and everying;
1. keeping alpha on/off
2. all DXT with mipmapping on/off

But nothing seems to be working. Is there anyone who can help me out ? :)

It sounds like you are trying to mod an existing game? If so its likely the game keeps a hash of all the files it uses, and detects the modified texture files, and simple won't load.
Check out https://www.facebook.com/LiquidGames for some great games made by me on the Playstation Mobile market.

If it is a korean based MMO than it has some built in protection with the gaurd system. There is a few ways around that though so.... good luck! If your .dds files match the same format than you should be good to go and this is more of a programming/hacking question than an art one.