🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Stalemate

Started by
11 comments, last by Hodgman 9 years ago

I've read about what it takes to become a game designer, what they do and I don't think I could be better at anything else. Of course I have to prove myself, this seems to be mentioned in every article I've read, but how? My biggest obstacle to reaching this goal is I found what I want to do but I really haven’t a clear plan to get there. Being a game designer isn’t like becoming a doctor or lawyer. To become a doctor there are standardized tests that must be taken, specific classes that must be passed and a very clear standard is defined. But when it comes to being a designer, I can’t help be realize the path is, to say the least, confusing and shrouded in a fog of abstract needs and requirements. To finally enter this career is my deepest passion but as a human being we are all different. So the path one takes to reach his/her goal will always be different then someone else’s. That being said I’ll just go over a little about myself and my situation.