🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Easy To Learn Drawing Software

Started by
7 comments, last by Gian-Reto 8 years, 9 months ago

Hello,

I need your advice on a specific problem that I have.

My father is a professional painter. He is around 70 years old and he has a very very basic knowledge on using computers.

He can pretty much just serf on the internet (facebook, youtube ect.).

I'm a game programmer and I want to use his skills to create graphics for my game. He can draw anything on paper very easily.

Problem is that we need to implement those drawings in computer graphics.

My question is... What would be the easiest drawing software for my father to learn?

I'm thinking the proccess being like this:

1. Draw the graphics on paper black and white

2. Scan and import on Computer

3. Draw the outlines

4. Coloring

Sadly for some that might be wondering, I have no talent in drawing :P .

Failure is not an option...

Advertisement

Scanning the images and using software like Photoshop(Pay) or Gimp(Free) will allow you to edit them as if they where drawn on the PC. You can even color them before scanning.

I use scanned images all the time, it's actually harder to use a drawing tablet than drawing on paper.

Gimp is good, a little hard to use. Photoshop is much more convenient and easy to use, just don't use it on a old PC; it takes forever to load.

If you are desperate and can't afford a good scanner you can always use a mobile phone or digital camera to take a picture, however I advice you keep it black and white if you use this.

Well correct me if I'm wrong but what you're saying is that I can scan a drawing from paper to photoshop and then I can edit the image so that it draws itself (with computer colors) without me doing anything?