🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Development Platform Recommendations??

Started by
3 comments, last by zygan 24 years, 5 months ago
I am fairly new to 3-D Game Programming. I am wanting to build a SERIOUS developemnt machine, and just out of curiosity I am wondering what the different people here recommend/use for hardware/OS/dev environments in games I am CONSIDERING a dual PIII/Geforce/lots of ram setup but the OS is the part that i am getting conflicting signals from... NT/98?? or linux?? Any help is appreciated zygan
Advertisement
I don''t know for sure, but i do not think that win 98 supports multiple processors, but NT does!
and Linux. If i were you I would run win NT!

I hope you got any help from this...

Martin Hjalmarsson
programming@swipnet.se
ICQ# 22869599
Martin Hjalmarssonprogramming@swipnet.seICQ# 22869599
One problem is NT doesn''t support DX 7 (or anything about DX 3). It would be kind of annoying to have to reboot or go to another computer to debug. If you code GL, NT should be fine. Or put 2000 on the box. A dual boot into linux wouldn''t be a bad idea.

It also might not hurt to put a voodoo2 in it, just to check older video card compatibility.

RAM is much more important than processor speed. If you have to choose between a extra $100 in processor versus an extra $100 in RAM, go for RAM.

I use a PII-300 with 384 MB RAM (maxed out the motherboard). I''ve found that it compiles faster than a PIII-500 with 128 MB RAM.