🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Low Poly vs. High Poly

Started by
12 comments, last by HeroR 8 years, 5 months ago

Hello,

I wanted to know how do you turn a low poly model into a high poly? I did several models for a project for my job and I put all the details that I wanted while keeping the poly count low and manageable. But my employer wonders if I can make the models a higher poly count. I know the correct process is to create a high poly model and then make a low poly version, but I have no experience making a high poly model. My experience is all about making my models as efficient as possible for gaming. Namely, getting the shape and details I want using the fewest possible polygons. The models are also checked and double check to make sure they have no ngons and tris.

I know just adding more edges is not the way to making a high poly model, so I am stuck. Any advise will be helpful.

Advertisement

Import into ZBrush. Add details.

Import into ZBrush. Add details.

Do this. Low poly is somewhat like very basic models that are usually used to sculpt things in ZBrush. If you're model isn't too sharp, it should be fine.

What will you make?
The other way around is mostly easier, by making different LODs.
You can also take a look at tesselation or geometry shaders (for example to split polys into more polys.

It depends on your needs, for more detail and netter looking models, Hodgman put you in the right direction (modelling).

Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me