🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Choosing a color pallet for my game?

Started by
0 comments, last by Kryzon 8 years, 4 months ago

Hi guys,

I want to create a small scale game in Unity and do the art in Qubicle. Do you have any tips for choosing a color plate? I have been doing design for years in Photoshop where only 4-6 colors are needed in a plate for what I do. However, games have buildings, trees, roads and I want to make it seem like it's all cut from the same cloth.

My game is a mobile game and I want it to seem bright, light and life-giving without it being childish. I have a few colors in mind but I am not sure how to extrapolate those colors out in a way that brings everything together.

Advertisement
Hello. I like this quote:

Since I'm a graphic designer, I create visual signatures for games. Making styleguides is a large part of my job, once I've figured out a vision.

It's interesting that your approach was very technical (HSV and percentages). As mentioned above, you'll find a lot of color theory things for areas like branding through graphic design but for video games there are like 3 styleguides online. It's pretty bad. I'm building a GDC talk on something which may shed some light on to the process for selecting something like color.

When choosing a colour palette I am very aware of color symbolism, their meanings and how they connect, how they compliment each other and even how they contrast one another.